How a Successful Medium Story Ruined Me

Brad
3 min readNov 17, 2020
Photo by bruce mars on Unsplash

I originally started Medium to write divisive articles about politics, social justice, and shamanism. As I matured as a writer, I found my voice in writing about myself and my hobbies. If I had 30 reads, I considered it a success. That was until one of my articles hit it big.

I decided last-minute to write an article about a running strategy called the “Maffetone Method”. It was something I played around with to try to become a better runner and didn't think much of it when publishing the article. I wrote it in about 20 minutes and hadn’t put that much thought into it. The next day, it exploded.

Courtesy of Bradley S.

I saw it climb in viewership by leap and bounds as the next week unfolded. I couldn’t believe it! Every day doubled in views and reads. By the end of October, there were over 10,000 reads, 6,000 reads, and hovered around 150 hours of reading time. It completely crushed the views from any other article I’ve written. I only have published 40 articles so far, while most of them are accepted by a publication, none have even come near the success of this article.

It’s been difficult writing articles ever since. A lot of self-doubt entered my mind when trying to chase…

--

--