Self

What is Mental Jiu-Jitsu?

Masculinity redefined

Brad
4 min readSep 2, 2021

--

Photo by Timothy Eberly on Unsplash

Practicing Brazilian jiu-jitsu was one of the most stimulating experiences of my life. The thousands of ways that two bodies can wrap around each other in the name of self-defense is simply astounding. But beyond all the cool chokes and holds, the most interesting part was the mental aspect. Mental jiu-jitsu is less about fighting, and more about the strategy of how to pick your battles, and that often involves opting out of fights entirely.

An example:

Recently, I parked my car at a mall. Seconds later, I heard some beeps, and little after a man had come out and stormed my car. I could make out that he was saying that I stole his spot, but it that was mostly muffled by a hurl of aggressive insults and threats to hurt me.

He annoyed me. I could feel the power getting sucked from the rational part of my brain, and surging the impulse to exit the car. Sizing him up, I felt capable of silencing him.

Instead, I smiled, waved, backed out of the spot, and chose a new one!

Photo by Yogendra Singh on Unsplash

Why?

--

--